The Wryters' Block

Shaping, Designing, Sculpting Words

The Final Frontier

Starship Enterprise

Starship Enterprise (Photo credit: TooFarNorth)

“Space – the final frontier. These are the voyages of the starship Enterprise. Its five-year mission: to explore strange new worlds, to seek out new life and new civilizations, to boldly go where no man has gone before.” With those words, I recall the Star Trek introduction narrated by William Shatner.
No, I am not ready for outer space, suited up in helmet, gloves, spacesuit. I do not want to see strange, green aliens with antennae that stick out across their heads. I do not want to leave planet Earth.
Instead I am home. All is quiet. I hear nothing but the whirr of the AC. Maybe a car door slams in the distance. Perhaps a vehicle inches by on the highway.
This is peace – the final frontier. With my sons all adults who think they know it all, (you remember that stage in life, right?) I can just relax. I take deep breaths of victory. I am surrounded by my writer tools – the trusty laptop, paper, pens, pencils, tablets, books… I have finally reached Utopia!!
With a smile on my face, I reach for a pen; the need to write, strong. As a writer, I begin to think that the brain never ceases to think. Even in bed at night, words and phrases assemble in my head. I wonder if I should rise and get them all down, for by morning, they disappear and run away. Or else those magical words I strive desperately to recall just turn to vapor, become a distant memory.
I raise my pen, ready to write the first phrase. But lo, a knock sounds on the door! It’s my youngest, the eighteen-year-old. He has returned!
I smile. Kids – you gotta love them!
For me, Utopia has become one word – peace. For me, peace is the final frontier. It is ME time when I can focus on the things that I love. What is your utopia?

September 1, 2012 - Posted by | Life, Writing | , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

cicampbellblog

WriteWhereYouAre

Plutonium™ Paint

Ultra Supreme Professional Grade Aerosol Paint

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

Infinitefreetime.com

The website of Luther M. Siler, Author/Editor/Curmudgeon

colombiancuties

As Cuties of Colombia we're lifting our great Nation.

Round Two

"Life is better than we expected."

thepainedartist

It is time for musings...musings about imagination...

Innovate * Inspire * Lead Change

If we teach today as we taught yesterday, we rob our children of tomorrow. John Dewey

Teacher as Transformer

Education, Leadership, Life, and Transformation

Dimitris Melicertes

I don't write, I touch without touching.

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Science is for Kids

Science for Elementary Classrooms

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

juliansherman.net/

Building A Business While Having A Life

LMHC

Licensed Mental Health Counselor

The Chia Pet Circus

Matthew David Curry

