The Wryters' Block

Shaping, Designing, Sculpting Words

A Writer’s Life

A Writer’s Life Lonely?
I Beg to Differ.

Isolated, shut away in a study with fingers that fly across the keyboard, many say that a writer’s life is very lonely. True, writing is a solitary activity, and sometimes it takes hours upon hours of writing days upon days, months upon months, even years, to complete “a masterpiece.”

Cover of "Twilight (Two-Disc Special Edit...

Cover of Twilight (Two-Disc Special Edition)

It took Robert James Waller about two weeks to complete Bridges of Madison County. Stephanie Myers wrote Twilight in three months. (And oh, how happy my heart is that she did! Like so many others, I enjoyed the read, wished I were a vampire, and fell in love with Edward.) Over a period of six months, Nicholas Sparks wrote The Notebook.
No matter the length of the undertaking, it’s been said that a writer’s life is lonely. I disagree.
1. A writer’s life is full of joy.
Writing is a pleasure. Every writer must love the written word. To put those words together in such a way that they evoke some type of response in readers brings astounding joy. I remember I looked up from my computer the other day and cheered, “I love to write!” And I felt so exhilarated. Everyone may not get as verbal as me, but writing creates an indescribable, delicious feeling inside. It brings about joy.
2. A writer’s room is teeming with people.
Inside that study, a writer is never alone. There he meets up with his characters, and they act out their lives right there on an imaginary stage for the writer to see. Scenes, pictures, conversations all play out in the writer’s head. So a writer’s life is never boring, never lonely; creativity keeps it entertaining.
Though I confess that I can do my best thinking when all is quiet and silent, I get inspired by songs and music. I have no study, no place of confinement, where I seek solace in which to write, and I am very conscious of spending time with family. While I pour out words to write while sitting at the dining room table amidst the bustling of everyday life, I feel I have the best of worlds – enjoying writing, hearing the sounds of television, listening to smooth grooves someone has opted to play, holding conversations…Being a mom certainly prepared me for this – for multitasking. This writing life rocks!.
What do you think, is a writer’s life lonely?

September 16, 2012 - Posted by | Writing | , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. I think this is a stereotype, similar to the the poverty stricken artist, obsolete in the world of the web.
    Here, we would-be writers are accessing zillions of writing sites and chatting back and forth. The internet has accelerated communication and made it possible for writing to be a rich experience. I’m 66 and trying to write my first fiction novel. I would be lost without you all.

    Like

    Comment by christine beryl | September 16, 2012 | Reply

    • Christine, thanks so much for your comment. I wholeheartedly agree!

      Like

      Comment by Arsoleen Woolcock | September 16, 2012 | Reply

  2. I don’t think the writer’s life is lonely, but I do think it has much chosen and beloved solitude. I enjoyed this post. 🙂

    Like

    Comment by lizkflaherty | September 17, 2012 | Reply

    • Liz, thanks so very much for commenting! Beloved solitude, indeed!! (When I get the chance) I usually write right in the “thick of it all.” So I guess that’s why I think writing is not always lonely. I’m curious. Do you have a study or some designated area in which to write?:)

      Like

      Comment by Arsoleen Woolcock | September 17, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

cicampbellblog

WriteWhereYouAre

Plutonium™ Paint

Ultra Supreme Professional Grade Aerosol Paint

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

Infinitefreetime.com

The website of Luther M. Siler, Author/Editor/Curmudgeon

colombiancuties

As Cuties of Colombia we're lifting our great Nation.

Round Two

"Life is better than we expected."

thepainedartist

It is time for musings...musings about imagination...

Innovate * Inspire * Lead Change

If we teach today as we taught yesterday, we rob our children of tomorrow. John Dewey

Teacher as Transformer

Education, Leadership, Life, and Transformation

Dimitris Melicertes

I don't write, I touch without touching.

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Science is for Kids

Science for Elementary Classrooms

The Neighborhood

society online's social conscious

juliansherman.net/

Building A Business While Having A Life

LMHC

Licensed Mental Health Counselor

The Chia Pet Circus

Matthew David Curry

