The Wryters' Block

Shaping, Designing, Sculpting Words

Three Rainy-Day Poems

Write rainy-day poems!

Rainy days – I love them! I curl up on the couch and peer outside, watch the rain pour, listen to its drumbeat on the roof, hear “ping” on a tin can, see drops slip-slide down wet, slippery window panes. Rainy days – days when I’m so relaxed and calm that words, phrases, thoughts, pictures, and emotions run rampant. So let the rain fall, glide, slide, hop, skip, drop, slither, ka-plop, pour! Bring it on!

Poems, whether created on a rainy day or not, appear somewhere in each of my books. It’s how my writing began – with a  poem, then on to short stories and then to novels.     

1. What Greater Love

What love is greater than a mother’s,

For a mother’s love is faithful and true?

It shelters, protects, influences, guides.

It is far-reaching, knows no boundaries.

The greatest thing that a mother can ever do

Is to teach Christ,

To tell how He is Savior.

He loves us so dearly.

There is such a love greater than a mother’s.

It is Christ’s love for us.

2. Hate              

Hate spreads slowly

Like an infection,

Like a disease.

It kills softly

All inside,

Nibbles away at the heart.

Hate is a cancer that

Ravages,

Destroys.

It has evil,

Yellow,

Glittering

Eyes.

Don’t let it consume you!

Hate is a monster –

Ugly,

Grotesque,

Twisted.

Shed the scales, please!

Can’t you move on?

Call it a day.

3. That Special Love

(I wrote this in the 9th grade.)

Once in a lifetime,

Thrice in a dream,

I met that special someone

It all seemed.

Once in a lifetime,

Thrice in a dream,

I felt so very special.

I felt so very real.

A love so sweet – a man so gentle;

His every kiss was special;

His every move, complete.

Once in a lifetime,

Once not in a dream,

I hope to meet

That very special someone,

And share that special love.

When I wrote “That Special Love” , I”m not positive that it was a rainy day or not, but I do know that I was young and very imaginative. My teacher thought it was not original, (maybe it was the maturity of the poem). It’s published in my first novel, Perfect Love. What do you think of rainy days?

September 19, 2012 - Posted by | Writing | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Sometimes I like rainy days because I can sleep in and cozy up to a great book like Perfect Love by Arsoleen Woolcock and books by Marion Chesney. I can make a great cup of coffee and just cozy up on the couch. Rainy days are good for the soul and for all of nature.

    Like

    Comment by Linda Suber | September 20, 2012 | Reply

    • Mmm…That does sound delightful and relaxing. I think rainy days are good for everybody every once in a while.:)

      Like

      Comment by Arsoleen Woolcock | September 20, 2012 | Reply

  2. Love your poems. I like occasional rainy days, but they quash my creativity pretty quickly. I like’em for reading days. On the couch. With something hot to drink. 🙂

    Like

    Comment by Liz Flaherty | September 20, 2012 | Reply

    • Thanks, Liz! On the couch with a refreshing drink and a spicy read sounds like a winner:) Even the snow gives me inspiration! (Though I confess I have a sad case of writer’s block right now.) Thanks for your thoughts!

      Like

      Comment by Arsoleen Woolcock | September 20, 2012 | Reply

  3. LOVE rainy days, Arsoleen! They’re so comforting – my only problem is that I can’t write a lick with rain pouring down. Rain, for me, is more of a reading or movie marathon day…

    Love the poem!!

    Like

    Comment by Kristina Knight | September 20, 2012 | Reply

    • Hey Kristina,
      You’re right – the rain brings so much comfort! But it’s true, there I sit staring out the window watching it pour. I love your rainy days, though – the reading or movie marathon:) Also, I must tell you that as your recent book winner, I am thoroughly enjoying What a Texas Girl Wants! Awesome!

      Like

      Comment by Arsoleen Woolcock | September 20, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

cicampbellblog

WriteWhereYouAre

Plutonium™ Paint

Ultra Supreme Professional Grade Aerosol Paint

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

Infinitefreetime.com

The website of Luther M. Siler, Author/Editor/Curmudgeon

colombiancuties

As Cuties of Colombia we're lifting our great Nation.

Round Two

"Life is better than we expected."

thepainedartist

It is time for musings...musings about imagination...

Innovate * Inspire * Lead Change

If we teach today as we taught yesterday, we rob our children of tomorrow. John Dewey

Teacher as Transformer

Education, Leadership, Life, and Transformation

Dimitris Melicertes

I don't write, I touch without touching.

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Science is for Kids

Science for Elementary Classrooms

The Neighborhood

society online's social conscious

juliansherman.net/

Building A Business While Having A Life

LMHC

Licensed Mental Health Counselor

The Chia Pet Circus

Matthew David Curry

