The Wryters' Block

Shaping, Designing, Sculpting Words

The Teacher In Me

Today I stood in front of the class, energized!

Classroom

Classroom (Photo credit: James F Clay)

I knew the plan.
I loved the skill.
I was like the President,
The Commander-in-Chief.
Like an experienced pilot,
I flew chartered skies.
But what I needed to do most today
Was motivate.

I stood in front of the class,
Passionate about learning.
I was like an artist proud of his handiwork;
My duties: to engage, to shape, mold, and carve the lesson.
But what I needed to show most today
Was enthusiasm.

I stood in front of the class today,
Prepared, Bold, Professional, Able,
Learned, Positive, Dedicated.
But what I needed to do most today
For Johnny who sat on row two
And for Meg who sat in the back
Was inspire.

I stood in front of the class,
The voice as of one in the wilderness;
A lamb, meek and mild and gentle;
Confident as a lion,
As protective as a mother hen.
But with tears that glistened behind my eyes,
What they needed to see most today
Was that I cared.

I am a teacher.

I’m proud of the students I teach – proud of their efforts and determination. Now in Adult Ed, my students inspire me to chase dreams and to never give up.
“Hold fast to your dreams” in 2013.

Who will you inspire this year?

*One of my favorite poems is “Dreams” by Langston Hughes.

January 12, 2013 - Posted by | Education | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

cicampbellblog

WriteWhereYouAre

Plutonium™ Paint

Ultra Supreme Professional Grade Aerosol Paint

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

Infinitefreetime.com

The website of Luther M. Siler, Author/Editor/Curmudgeon

colombiancuties

As Cuties of Colombia we're lifting our great Nation.

Round Two

"Life is better than we expected."

thepainedartist

It is time for musings...musings about imagination...

Innovate * Inspire * Lead Change

If we teach today as we taught yesterday, we rob our children of tomorrow. John Dewey

Teacher as Transformer

Education, Leadership, Life, and Transformation

Dimitris Melicertes

I don't write, I touch without touching.

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Science is for Kids

Science for Elementary Classrooms

The Neighborhood

society online's social conscious

juliansherman.net/

Building A Business While Having A Life

LMHC

Licensed Mental Health Counselor

The Chia Pet Circus

Matthew David Curry

