The Wryters' Block

Shaping, Designing, Sculpting Words

Life

My son Tim

“Life is like one big test: At the end of it, you’re in Heaven or hell.”
I agree with my son’s statement. That is our last test, and we either pass or fail.
“Better yet,” I told him, “there are a series of tests that are ongoing in our lives. If ever we don’t pass, we get up and brush ourselves off, move forward. Sometimes we may need to change course.”
To me, life is like climbing a tree (just an analogy). It’s hard. Some of us scooch up the trunk; some leap to a branch; some need a ladder; some climb up on the backs of others, but our goal is to climb as high as we can. Sometimes in the process, we slip, slide back down, do everything we can not to tumble and fall and crash. Sometimes we veer far out on a limb, dangle on a branch until we find our way back again.
I’m an adult education teacher, and I love my job with a fierce passion. What I tell my students, I have to repeat to myself:
1. Stay focused.
2. Stay positive.
3. Never give up on your dreams; keep them close to your heart.
4. Make the most of every day of your life.
5. Never stop learning.
6. Love yourself.
7. Root and cheer for yourself.
8. Surround yourself with other like-minded individuals.
9. Take steps today toward your goal.
10. You can do it!

Life is great! It’s what we make it. It’s how we live it.

So as the author of two published books, I’m trying to tell myself that I can do what I set out to accomplish. I can write two more books and then two more… My goal is to write as much as possible every single day. What will you resolve to do today that takes you closer to your goal?

January 31, 2013 - Posted by | Life | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

cicampbellblog

WriteWhereYouAre

Plutonium™ Paint

Ultra Supreme Professional Grade Aerosol Paint

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

Infinitefreetime.com

The website of Luther M. Siler, Author/Editor/Curmudgeon

colombiancuties

As Cuties of Colombia we're lifting our great Nation.

Round Two

"Life is better than we expected."

thepainedartist

It is time for musings...musings about imagination...

Innovate * Inspire * Lead Change

If we teach today as we taught yesterday, we rob our children of tomorrow. John Dewey

Teacher as Transformer

Education, Leadership, Life, and Transformation

Dimitris Melicertes

I don't write, I touch without touching.

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Science is for Kids

Science for Elementary Classrooms

The Neighborhood

society online's social conscious

juliansherman.net/

Building A Business While Having A Life

LMHC

Licensed Mental Health Counselor

The Chia Pet Circus

Matthew David Curry

