The Wryters' Block

Shaping, Designing, Sculpting Words

Ben’s Choice

Sisters

More Flash Fiction

My sister Regina is smart, pretty, and sexy; Me, I’m average.
When we were little, we shared many things – books and secrets . . . She’s had many admirers, boyfriends galore. Now we both love Ben. He’s tall and handsome with brown, gentle eyes that see inside my soul. I’ve felt the pressure of his lips. I love the feel of his strong embrace. Blindfolded, I can trace the structure of his face – the strong jaw; high cheekbones; cleft in his chin.
Tonight Ben must choose. It’s either Regina or me.
I turn on the swivel stool, smooth on scented lotions. I brush my hair until it glistens, pull fish-nets up long legs, slide into black lingerie.
In the kitchen, I’ve prepared dinner. Dessert’s in the fridge; red wine, chilling on ice; the candle-lit table, set for two.
Outside the weather turns ugly, dampens my mood. Rain slides like tears on the windowpane. Lightning hurls, and thunder booms.
I walk to the sofa, peer out into the night, see headlights come and go.
In minutes, Ben will swing into the drive. I’ll race to waiting arms. However, if the phone rings, it’s Regina he’s chosen.
I hear the ringing phone. It cuts like a knife. Even so, I long to hear his voice. I lift the receiver.
“Ben?”
“Yes.”
My hand trembles, drops the phone with a thud. But I breathe easy when he says through the speaker, “Stuck in traffic, baby. I’m on my way.”

March 8, 2013 - Posted by | Flash Fiction | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

cicampbellblog

WriteWhereYouAre

Plutonium™ Paint

Ultra Supreme Professional Grade Aerosol Paint

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

Infinitefreetime.com

The website of Luther M. Siler, Author/Editor/Curmudgeon

colombiancuties

As Cuties of Colombia we're lifting our great Nation.

Round Two

"Life is better than we expected."

thepainedartist

It is time for musings...musings about imagination...

Innovate * Inspire * Lead Change

If we teach today as we taught yesterday, we rob our children of tomorrow. John Dewey

Teacher as Transformer

Education, Leadership, Life, and Transformation

Dimitris Melicertes

I don't write, I touch without touching.

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Science is for Kids

Science for Elementary Classrooms

The Neighborhood

society online's social conscious

juliansherman.net/

Building A Business While Having A Life

LMHC

Licensed Mental Health Counselor

The Chia Pet Circus

Matthew David Curry

