The Wryters' Block

Shaping, Designing, Sculpting Words

Writers Are Weird

Thinking
Thinking (Photo credit: Moyan_Brenn)

Perhaps to a non-writer, writers appear weird. We writers tend to have unusual habits that others may even call loony. See my checklist below to see if you share any of my writing nuances.

I . . .

  1. Wake up in the middle of the night, thinking about my characters.
  2. Climb out of bed to jot down an idea, lest I forget by morning.
  3. Have happy fingers that long to touch the keyboard as soon as I wake.
  4. Talk to characters.
  5. Hear characters talk in my head.
  6. Through conversations, allow characters to tell me what’s going to happen next in the plot.
  7. Go everywhere with pen and paper; can’t leave the house without it!
  8. Consider writing time a joy.
  9. Dissect movies – can almost predict what’s going to happen next; look for the black moment, climax, etc.
  10. Perfect gifts for me – paper, notebooks, pens, tablets, books, sticky notes . . . anything involving reading and writing.
     I remember vividly when we talked about hobbies at school, my students thought, “You really enjoy those things?” My favorite pasttimes were reading and writing. What a dull teacher they had! Only to me, those hobbies led me on thrilling adventures, gave me extraordinary highs, and allowed me to experience places and things I never dreamed possible.
     In what way do you think writers seem weird? What characteristic would you add?
 
June 22, 2013 - Posted by | Life, Writing | , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. I spend time thinking about my stories. My wife totally doesn’t get this and thinks I am procrastinating.

    Like

    Comment by The Wandering Gourmand | June 27, 2013 | Reply

  2. So how many of these stories and characters are rooted in the people we know, including ourselves, and our attempts to make sense of what’s happening around us?

    Like

    Comment by Jnana Hodson | July 1, 2013 | Reply

  3. My wife often tells me that I “don’t seem to be here.” I am here, physically, but my mind is off somewhere else, writing or rewriting.

    Like

    Comment by bronxboy55 | July 3, 2013 | Reply

    • Such is the life of a writer! It does seem that, as a writer, I am constantly thinking of the next line, sentence, topic, or character . . . Thanks so much for sharing!

      Like

      Comment by Arsoleen Woolcock | July 3, 2013 | Reply

  4. You’ve got an award! Congrats! http://lovemekanism.org/2013/07/13/and-the-winner…me-twin-awards/

    Like

    Comment by Meka | July 13, 2013 | Reply

    • Thanks so very much!!! I am honored. 🙂

      Like

      Comment by Arsoleen Woolcock | July 20, 2013 | Reply

      • :)You’re very welcome!

        Like

        Comment by Meka | July 20, 2013

  5. The absolute conviction that there’s meaning in any and everything. Films, people, objects, whatever – just always trying to find the narrative behind the thing. Makes it real hard to throw away the little notes I make, in case I toss something that could later be important, it’s a very untidy existence.

    Like

    Comment by Thoughtlife | July 27, 2013 | Reply

    • I, too, save notes, story starters, poems, and such. I am the same way! Thanks for your response.

      Like

      Comment by Arsoleen Woolcock | July 27, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

cicampbellblog

WriteWhereYouAre

Plutonium™ Paint

Ultra Supreme Professional Grade Aerosol Paint

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

Infinitefreetime.com

The website of Luther M. Siler, Author/Editor/Curmudgeon

colombiancuties

As Cuties of Colombia we're lifting our great Nation.

Round Two

"Life is better than we expected."

thepainedartist

It is time for musings...musings about imagination...

Innovate * Inspire * Lead Change

If we teach today as we taught yesterday, we rob our children of tomorrow. John Dewey

Teacher as Transformer

Education, Leadership, Life, and Transformation

Dimitris Melicertes

I don't write, I touch without touching.

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Science is for Kids

Science for Elementary Classrooms

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

juliansherman.net/

Building A Business While Having A Life

LMHC

Licensed Mental Health Counselor

The Chia Pet Circus

Matthew David Curry

